Football Writers Association of America June 27, 2005
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
50 players get early consideration for National Defensive Player of the Year

DALLAS (FWAA) – The Football Writers Association of America has announced the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List for the 2005 season. Fifty standout players from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

The Bronko Nagurski TrophyThe Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded to the best defensive player in college football, has been a staple of the FWAA's awards since 1993. It is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club, which has held the annual awards banquet since 1995.

The 2005 banquet is set for Monday, Dec. 5, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, where five finalists will vie for the prize. Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson won the 2004 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in late November. Players may be added from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the course of the 2005 season.

For the fifth straight season, the FWAA will select Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week, beginning with games the week of Sept. 3 and running through the middle of November. Each national player of the week will be  added to the trophy's watch list throughout the season.

Muhammad Abdullah, DB, Kentucky
Rufus Alexander, LB, Oklahoma
Jason Allen, DB, Tennessee
Jon Alston, LB, Stanford
Dan Bazuin, DE, Central Michigan
Darnell Bing, DB, USC
Larry Birdine, DE, Oklahoma
H. B. Blades, LB, Pittsburgh
Trent Bray, LB, Oregon State
Ahmad Brooks, LB, Virginia
Jeremy Chase, DE, Navy
Bernard Davis, LB, Troy
Will Derting, LB, Washington State
Ray Edwards, DE, Purdue
John Eubanks, DB, Southern Miss
Steve Fifita, DL, Utah
Gabriel Fulbright, DB, New Mexico
Charles Gordon, DB, Kansas
Chad Greenway, LB, Iowa
Korey Hall, LB, Boise State
Roman Harper, DB, Alabama
Spencer Havner, LB, UCLA
A. J. Hawk, LB, Ohio State
Abdul Hodge, LB, Iowa
Thomas Howard, LB, UTEP
Michael Huff, DB, Texas
D’Qwell Jackson, LB, Maryland
Cameron Jensen, LB, BYU
Mathias Kiwanuka, DE, Boston College
LaRon Landry, DB, LSU
Jesse Mahelona, DT, Tennessee
Derrick Martin, DB, Wyoming
Larry McSwain, DE, UAB
Quentin Moses, DE, Georgia
Terna Nande, LB, Miami (Ohio)
Haloti Ngata, DT, Oregon
Paul Posluszny, LB, Penn State
Josh Powell, DB, San Jose State
DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama
Ko Simpson, DB, South Carolina
Ernie Sims, LB, Florida State
Darryl Tapp, DE, Virginia Tech
Dhyan Tarver, DB, Army
Gabe Watson, DT, Michigan
Jimmy Williams, DB, Virginia Tech
Travis Williams, LB, Auburn
Kyle Williams, DT, LSU
Mario Williams, DE, N.C. State
Rodrique Wright, DT, Texas
Alan Zemaitis, DB, Penn State

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, N.C. region. The club's activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding citizenship, scholarship, sportsmanship, and leadership of area athletes and coaches. For more information, contact John Rocco (704-347-2918 or The official website of the Charlotte Touchdown Club is

For more information on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, contact FWAA executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or

Al Featherston
Dave Jones
The Patriot News
Damien Pierce
Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Paul Gattis
The Huntsville Times
Brian Koonz
Danbury News-Times
Kalani Simpson
Honolulu Star-Bulletin
Tim Griffin
San Antonio Express-News
Ted Lewis
New Orleans Times-Picayune
Scott Wolf
Los Angeles Daily News