Sept. 4: Rutgers Sept. 11: Fresno State Sept. 18: Auburn Sept. 25: Navy Oct. 2: Northwestern Oct. 9: Army Oct. 16: Wisconsin Oct. 23: Mississippi State Oct. 30: North Carolina Nov. 6: Notre Dame Nov. 13: Michigan State Nov. 20: Utah Nov. 27: Syracuse
Football Writers Association of America Oct. 11, 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Black Knights vanquish losing streak at 19

DALLAS (FWAA) With their 48-29 win over Cincinnati, the Army Black Knights are the FedEx Orange Bowl National Team of the Week, as selected by the pollsters of the FWAA's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll for games of the weekend of Oct. 9.

Tielor Robinson scored five touchdowns and Carlton Jones ran for 180 yards as Army (1-4) snapped the nation's longest losing streak at 19 games. Army had last won on Nov. 16, 2002, against Tulane, and the academy's last win at West Point was on Oct. 27, 2001, also against the Green Wave.

FedEx Orange Bowl

Robinson scored his final touchdown of the day on a 93-yard pass from Zac Dahman with 11:32 left to secure the win. For the afternoon, Robinson ran for 82 yards and had 111 yards receiving.

Army is the second service academy to win the FWAA's weekly award this season. Navy was the national team of the week just two weeks ago after a 29-26 win over Vanderbilt gave them a 4-0 record.

"It's a great win for us, a monkey off our back," said first-year Army coach Bobby Ross.

Other FedEx Orange Bowl National Team of the Week nominees for the weekend of Oct. 9 included:

Kansas (3-3): The Jayhawks ended an 11-year losing streak to arch-rival Kansas State with a 31-28 win in Lawrence.

Oklahoma (5-0): The Sooners beat arch-rival Texas for the fifth straight time and, in the process, handed the Longhorns their first shutout loss since 1980.

Tennessee (4-1): The Vols snapped Georgia's 17-game home winning streak with a 19-14 win between the hedges.

Texas Tech (4-2): The Red Raiders scored 49 second-half points to hand Nebraska its worst loss in its 114-year football history, 70-10.

Wisconsin (6-0): The Badgers topped Ohio State, 24-13, for their third straight win in Columbus to move to 6-0 for the first time since 1998.

The FWAA has named a national team of the week since the 2002 season. This is the first season that the award has been sponsored by the FedEx Orange Bowl.

The 16 pollsters of the Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll decide the weekly honor. Each Monday during the 2004 college football season, the FWAA will name the FedEx Orange Bowl National Team of the Week through Nov. 29. This season, FedEx Orange Bowl will match the two top-ranked teams in the final BCS standings. It will be played at Miami's Pro Player Stadium on Jan. 4, 2005.

The Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll has resumed this season and will be released each Monday. The top-ranked team in the final poll will be awarded the Grantland Rice Trophy as the FWAA's national champion. The FWAA has awarded the trophy each season since 1954. USC, the defending FWAA national champion, and Oklahoma are tied atop the regular season's first poll, released today.

For more information on the FedEx Orange Bowl National Team of the Week, go to or

2004 FedEx Orange Bowl National Teams of the Week
Weekend of Sept. 4: Rutgers Scarlet Knights
Weekend of Sept. 11: Fresno State Bulldogs
Weekend of Sept. 18: Auburn Tigers
Weekend of Sept. 25: Navy Midshipmen
Weekend of Oct. 2: Northwestern Wildcats
Weekend of Oct. 9: Army Black Knights
Weekend of Oct. 16: Wisconsin Badgers
Weekend of Oct. 23: Mississippi State Bulldogs
Weekend of Oct. 30: North Carolina Tar Heels
Weekend of Nov. 6: Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Weekend of Nov. 13: Michigan State Spartans
Weekend of Nov. 20: Utah Utes
Weekend of Nov. 27: Syracuse Orange
Mark Blaudschun
Boston Globe
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Steve Henson
Los Angeles Times
Jordan Burchette
CSTV | Maxim Online
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Natalie Meisler
Denver Post
Frank Coyle
Stewart Mandel
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Ted Miller
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald
Darryl Richards
Bob Moran
East Valley Tribune