Football Writers Association of America Nov. 1, 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: Ted Gangi
Trojans garner 14 of 16 first-place votes

DALLAS (FWAA) – The Southern California Trojans remain the top-ranked team in this week's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll. USC (8-0), the defending Football Writers Association of America national champs, garnered four additional No. 1 votes votes after beating Washington State, 42-12, to win their 17th straight game. USC now has a season-high 14 first-place votes in the poll.

The Grantland
Rice Trophy

Oklahoma (8-0) stayed at No. 2 after its hard-fought 38-35 win at Oklahoma State. The Sooners were voted No. 1 by one of the pollsters and Auburn (9-0), for the third straight week, notched the other top vote and is third in the poll. Only seven poll points separate the Sooners and Tigers.

After an off week, Wisconsin (8-0) moved up to the No. 4 spot and California (6-1), fresh of back-to-back shutouts, checked in at No. 5. Miami (6-1) and Florida State (6-2) suffered defeats this week and dropped in the poll. The Seminoles are the only team with two losses among the Super 16.

The Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, introduced prior to the 2002 season, ranks the nation's top 16 Division I-A football teams. A regionally-balanced group of 16 selectors votes in the poll. The pollsters also select the FedEx Orange Bowl National Team of the Week, which is also announced each Monday during the regular season.

In addition, the 16 voters representing four regions, cast a ballot each week and give a brief synopsis of their ballot. Unlike other college football polls, the FWAA makes each of its pollster's ballot public, along with the weekly synopsis.

West Virginia, after beating Rutgers to improve to 7-1, is the only new team in the poll. The Mountaineers, who replaced Texas A&M in the poll, are ranked 16th and give the Big East Conference a team in the rankings. Among nine conferences represented in the Super 16, the ACC and SEC each feature three teams among the Top 16.

Click here to see how and why each pollster voted

The complete poll for Nov. 1 is as follows:

Rk. School [1st] Conf. W-L Pts Pvs This Week (Nov. 6)
1. USC [14] Pac-10 8-0 254 1 at Oregon State
2. Oklahoma [1] Big 12 8-0 236 2 at Texas A&M
3. Auburn [1] SEC 9-0 229 3 Idle
4. Wisconsin Big Ten 8-0 194 5 vs. Minnesota
5. California Pac-10 6-1 183 7 vs. Oregon
6. Utah MWC 8-0 163 8 vs. Colorado State
7. Georgia SEC 7-1 150 t9 at Kentucky
8. Texas Big 12 7-1 144 t9 vs. Oklahoma State
9. Tennessee SEC 7-1 128 11 vs. Notre Dame
10. Miami ACC 6-1 115 4 vs. Clemson
11. Michigan Big Ten 8-1 114 12 Idle
12. Louisville C-USA 5-1 64 13 at Memphis (Nov. 4)
13. Virginia ACC 6-1 59 14 vs. Maryland
14. Boise State WAC 8-0 54 16 Idle
15. Florida State ACC 6-2 41 6 vs. Duke
16. West Virginia Big East 7-1 28 - vs. Temple
FedEx Orange Bowl National Team of the Week: North Carolina.
First-place votes: USC 14 (Blaudschun, Coyle, Davis, Dodd, Fiutak, Henson, Higgins, Mandel, Meisler, Miller, Moran, Richards, Robbins, Shain); Oklahoma 1 (Burchette); Auburn 1 (Griffith).
Also receiving votes: Virginia Tech 8, Oklahoma State 4, LSU 3, Arizona State 2, Iowa 2, Southern Miss 1.
Dropped out: Texas A&M (15).
By conference: ACC 3, SEC 3, Big Ten 2, Big 12 2, Pac-10 2, Big East 1, Conference USA 1, Mountain West 1, WAC 1.

The FWAA has presented the Grantland Rice Trophy, named in honor of the legendary sportswriter, to college football's national champion each year since 1954. This is the third season that a season-long poll will be concurrent with the award.

For further information contact Steve Richardson, Executive Director of the FWAA (972-713-6198, or Ted Gangi, FWAA webmaster (214-823-7992,

2004 Grantland Rice Super 16 Polls (No. 1 team)
Aug. 27 (USC)
Oct. 11 (Oklahoma, USC)
Oct. 18 (USC)
Nov. 8 (USC)
Oct. 25 (USC)
Nov. 1 (USC)
Nov. 15 (USC)
Nov. 22 (USC)
Nov. 29 (USC)
Dec. 6 (USC)
Jan. 5 (USC)
Mark Blaudschun
Boston Globe
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Brian Davis
The Dallas Morning News
Steve Henson
Los Angeles Times
Jordan Burchette
CSTV | Maxim Online
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Natalie Meisler
Denver Post
Frank Coyle
Stewart Mandel
Pete Fiutak
College Football News
Ted Miller
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald
Darryl Richards
Bob Moran
East Valley Tribune