Football Writers Association of America June 28, 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Award to be presented at Dec. 6 banquet in Charlotte

DALLAS (FWAA) – The FWAA has announced the 2004 Bronko Nagurski Watch List, which is a compilation of the best defensive players in college football regardless of position.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy

The winner of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club, will be named on Dec. 6 at a banquet in Charlotte, N.C. Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops will be the keynote speaker.

Last season’s Bronko Nagurski winner was Oklahoma defensive back Derrick Strait, who was the second Sooner to win the award in three seasons. Oklahoma defensive back Roy Williams won the award in 2001.

The FWAA will select a defensive player of the week during the 2004 season. Top defensive performances around the country will be submitted by schools and conferences. And an FWAA committee will select the winner from those nominees.

None of the 2003 Bronko Nagurski finalists returns this season, but a finalist from 2002, Georgia end David Pollack, is returning for his senior season.

One player per school is listed below. But all defensive players on the All-America Watch List are considered by the FWAA All-America Committee. Those players who win defensive player of the week awards and have not been previously listed also will be considered. Please contact your conference committee person for updates during the season.

Muhammad Abdullah, DB, Kentucky
Allan Adami, DT, SMU
Brian Atkinson, LB, Northern Illinois
Andy Avalos, LB, Boise State
Adrian Awasom, DE, North Texas
Jermaine Berry, DT, Kansas State
Jason Berryman, DE, Iowa State
Jamaal Brimmer, DB, UNLV
Michael Boley, LB, Southern Miss
Nick Bunting, LB, Tulsa
Kevin Burnett, LB, Tennessee
Chris Canty, DE, Virginia
Shaun Cody, DT-DE, USC
Channing Crowder, LB, Florida
Will Derting, LB, Washington State
Diamond Ferri, SS, Syracuse
Dan Cody, DE, Oklahoma
Trent Cole, DE, Cincinnati
Justin Crooks, LB, Baylor
Adell Duckett, DE, Texas Tech
Simon Fraser, DE, Ohio State
Orien Harris, DT., Miami
Spencer Havner, LB, UCLA
Jovan Haye, DE, Vanderbilt
Anttaj Hawthorne, DT, Wisconsin
Eric Henderson, DE, Georgia Tech
Leroy Hill, LB, Clemson
D'Qwell Jackson, LB, Maryland
Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas
Jarvis Johnson, SS, Rutgers
Adam Jones, CB, West Virginia
Eric King, DB, Wake Forest
James Kinney, LB, Missouri
Mathias Kiwanuka, DE, Boston College
Maurice Lloyd, LB, Connecticut
Jamus Martin, DE, Marshall
Donnie McCleskey, DB, California
Mitch Meeuwsen, FS, Oregon State
Eric Moore, DE, Florida St.
Zach Morris, NG, Wyoming
Kirk Morrison, LB, San Diego State
Terna Nande, LB, Miami (Ohio)
David Pollack, DE, Georgia
Brady Poppinga, DE, BYU
Josh Powell, DB, San Jose State
Julius Roberts, DE, Boise State
Robert Rodriguez, LB, UTEP
Matt Roth, DE, Iowa
DeMeco Ryans, LB, Alabama
James Sanders, DB, Fresno State
Morgan Scalley, DB, Utah
Marcus Spears, DE, LSU
John Syptak, DE, Rice
Pat Thomas, LB, N.C. State
Justin Tuck, DE, Notre Dame
Rian Wallace, LB, Temple
Darrent Williams, DB, Oklahoma State
Jimmy Williams, DB, Virginia Tech
Pierre Woods, LB, Michigan
Zac Woodfin, LB, UAB

Related Link:
• Bronko Nagurski Trophy official site (

2004 FWAA All-America Committee
Jack Bogaczyk Charleston (W. Va.) Daily Mail Big East
Charles Durrenberger Arizona Daily Star, Tuscon Pac-10
Chad Hartley Reno (Nev.) Gazette Journal WAC
Todd Jones Columbus (Ohio) Dispatch National, C-USA
Rich Kaipust Omaha (Neb.) World-Herald Big 12
Steve Kiggins Casper (Wyo.) Star-Tribune Mountain West
Joe Person The State, Columbia, S.C. SEC, Sun Belt
Chip Scoggins Minneapolis (Minn.) Star-Tribune Big Ten, MAC
Bob Thomas Florida Times-Union, Jacksonville ACC