Football Writers Association of America Sept. 29, 2003
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Golden Bears halt USC's winning streak at 11

DALLAS (FWAA) – By virtue of their 34-31 win over Southern California, the California Golden Bears have been named the Football Writers Association of America's National Team of the Week for games of the weekend of Sept. 27. This is the second time Cal has earned the honor since its inception last season. Cal's 46-22 win over Michigan State prompted the school's first award last Sept. 16.

The honor is decided by the 16-member panel that votes in the organization's Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, which is in its second season.

Tyler Fredrickson nailed a 38-yard field goal on Cal's third overtime possession to end USC's winning streak at 11 games. The Golden Bears never trailed in the game and once led by 14 points in the first half, but the Trojans rallied to force the tie-breaker on a Ryan Killeen field goal with 16 seconds left in regulation.

Washington State, with its decisive 55-16 win at Oregon, and Kansas, a 35-14 winner over rival Missouri, were the other teams nominated this week.

The FWAA Team of the Week will be announced each Monday throughout the season.

The Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll, released in the preseason, will resume on Monday, Oct. 13.

The FWAA, in conjunction with the Charlotte Touchdown Club, will name its Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week on Tuesday.

2003 FWAA National Teams of the Week
Weekend of Aug. 30: USC Trojans
Weekend of Sept. 6: Wake Forest Demon Deacons
Weekend of Sept. 13: Arkansas Razorbacks
Weekend of Sept. 20: Marshall Thundering Herd
Weekend of Sept. 27: California Bears
Weekend of Oct. 6: Baylor Bears
Weekend of Oct. 13: Oklahoma Sooners
Weekend of Oct. 20: Florida Gators
Weekend of Oct. 27: West Virginia Mountaineers
Weekend of Nov. 3: Virginia Tech Hokies
Weekend of Nov. 10: Clemson Tigers
Weekend of Nov. 17: Kansas State Wildcats
Weekend of Nov. 24: Michigan Wolverines

Mark Blaudschun
Boston Globe
Mike Griffith
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Dennis Dodd
CBS SportsLine
Bob Condotta
Seattle Times
Jordan Burchette
Ron Higgins
The Commercial Appeal
Pete Fiutak
Steve Henson 
Los Angeles Times
Frank Coyle
Stewart Mandel
Darryl Richards
Bob Moran
East Valley Tribune
Lenn Robbins
New York Post
Jeff Shain
Miami Herald
Dave Sittler
Tulsa World
Adam Thompson
Denver Post