Football Writers Association of America Dec. 1, 2003
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Andrews, Gallery and Lavalais nominated by FWAA

DALLAS (FWAA) Iowa offensive tackle Robert Gallery, Arkansas offensive tackle Shawn Andrews and LSU defensive tackle Chad Lavalais were named Outland Trophy finalists on Monday.

The Outland Trophy annually goes to the top interior lineman in college football and is selected by the FWAA All-America Committee with input from the membership.


The 2003 Outland Trophy winner will be named on Dec. 11 during the ESPN College Football Awards Show in Orlando. The annual presentation banquet, which is sponsored by the Omaha Sports Committee, will be Jan. 8 in Omaha, Neb.

Andrews, a 6-5, 371-pound junior, is a repeat FWAA All-America in 2003, and anchors an offensive line that crushed Texas early in the season.

Gallery, a 6-7, 320-pound senior, has been the top talent on a Hawkeye offensive line that lost four starters from 2002, but still produced a 1,000-yard rusher in 2003 behind his blocking.

And Lavalais, a 6-3, 289-pound senior, is the best player on a defense, which has allowed fewer points per game than any in college football.

Iowa's two previous Outland Trophy winners were Calvin Jones (1955) and Alex Karras (1957). Arkansas has had one previous winner, Loyd Phillips (1966). LSU has never had an Outland Trophy winner.

Presented since 1946, the Outland is the third oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman and Maxwell awards. And it is named after the late John Outland who created the award a year before his death.

An All-American lineman at the University of Pennsylvania at the turn of the century, Dr. Outland created the award to recognize linemen. He believed linemen needed more recognition.

The first Outland Award was presented to the late George Connor of Notre Dame.