Football Writers Association of America May 27, 2003
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
44 interior linemen in early contention

DALLAS (FWAA) The Football Writers Association of America has announced the prestigious 2003 Outland Trophy Watch List for college football's top interior lineman.

The winner of the 2003 Outland Trophy will be announced Dec. 11 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla. Three finalists will be selected by the FWAA All-America Committee in late November and will appear on the show.

Outland Trophy

The winner also will receive his trophy during a banquet on Jan. 8 in Omaha, Neb. The banquet is sponsored by the Omaha Sports Committee, and will honor 1987 Outland winner Chad Hennings.

The first Outland Award was presented to the late George Connor of Notre Dame. Several notable linemen have won the Outland over the years. But the FWAA only started presenting a trophy to the winner in the last 15 years. Past winners who have do not have trophies are receiving them at the presentation banquet each January when the current-day winners receive their trophies.

Washington State's Rien Long won the 2002 Outland Trophy, leading his team to the Pac-10 championship and a berth in the Rose Bowl.

The Outland Trophy annually goes to the nation's top interior lineman tackles, centers, guards on offense or defense are eligible in college football. The FWAA All-America Committee selects the winner with input from the membership. Presented since 1946, the Outland is the third oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.

The award is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the century. Dr. Outland established the award in 1946, a year before his death, with the help of the FWAA. He believed it was important for lineman to receive greater recognition.

Tim Anderson, DL, Ohio State
Shawn Andrews, OT, Arkansas
Calvin Armstrong, OT, Wash. St.
Jason Babin, DL, Western Michigan
Wesley Britt, OT, Alabama
Vernon Carey, Miami, Fla.
Jordan Carstens, DT, Iowa St.
Shaun Cody, DT, USC
Darnell Dockett, DT, Florida State
Nat Dorsey, OT, Georgia Tech
Rob Droege, OL, Missouri
Louis Gachelin, DT, Syracuse
Robert Gallery, OT, Iowa
Todd Ghilani, C, Northern Illinois
Jake Grove, C, Virginia Tech
Rex Hadnot, C, Houston
Antonio Hall, OL, Kentucky
Tommie Harris, DT, Oklahoma
Joseph Hayes, OG, San Jose State
Howard Hodges, DL, Iowa
Trevor Hutton, OG, Utah State
Richie Incognito, C, Nebraska
Jason Kaufusi, DL, Utah
Brandon Kennedy, DT, North Texas
Nick Leckey, OL, Kansas State
Logan Mankins, OT, Fresno State
Matt Martinez, C, Idaho
Nate McPeek, OL, Marshall
Shane Olivea, OT, Ohio State
Tony Pape, OT, Michigan
Rob Petitti, OT, Pittsburgh
Brady Poppinga, DL, BYU
Brian Rimpf, OT, East Carolina
Jacob Rogers, OT, USC
Darrion Scott, DL, Ohio State
Isaac Sopoaga, DT, Hawaii
Max Starks, OT, Florida
Alex Stepanovich, C, Ohio State
Ben Stephens, C, Rice
Claude Terrell, OL, New Mexico
Marcus Tubbs, DT, Texas
Dan Weaver, C, Oregon
Travelle Wharton, OT, South Carolina
Ben Wilkerson, C, LSU

Related Link:
Outland Trophy