Football Writers Association of America May 2, 2003
For Immediate Release
Contact: John Rocco
42 defensive standouts lauded

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (FWAA) – The Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America have announced the watch list of candidates for the 2003 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded annually to the nation’s top defensive college player.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy

The award, named after Hall of Famer and University of Minnesota and Chicago Bears star Bronko Nagurski, recognizes the best all-around defensive players throughout the year with the Bronko Nagurski Player of the Week. In November, five finalists will be selected by the FWAA All-America committee and the trophy will be presented to the winner at a banquet on December 8 in Charlotte, N.C.

The Watch List serves as guide to the best players in the game and is updated each week during the college football season.

Of last season's five Bronko Nagurski finalists, only Georgia defensive end David Pollack returns for the 2003 season. It is the 11th straight year the FWAA has honored the Defensive Player of the Year.

The 800-member Football Writers Association of America selects the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list candidates, identifies the players of the week and names the trophy winner. The Charlotte Touchdown Club, a non-profit organization that raises funds for scholarships, has presented the trophy each year since 1995.

The distinguished recipients who have been awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy in past years include the following: Rob Waldrop (1993), Warren Sapp (1994), Pat Fitzgerald (1995 and '96), Charles Woodson (1997), Champ Bailey (1998), Corey Moore (1999), Dan Morgan (2000), and Roy Williams (2001). The 2002 winner was Terrell Suggs, a defensive end from Arizona State University.

Tim Anderson, DL, Ohio State
Jason Babin, DL, Western Michigan
Atari Bigby, DB, Central Florida
Michael Boulware, LB, Florida St.
Jamaal Brimmer, DB, UNLV
Jorge Cordova, DE, Nevada
Karlos Dansby, LB, Auburn
Rod Davis, LB, Southern Miss
Vontez Duff, DB, Notre Dame
Brandon Everage, DB, Oklahoma
Chris Gamble, DB, Ohio State
Matt Grootegoed, LB, USC
Claude Harriott, DE, Pittsburgh
Tommie Harris, DT, Oklahoma
Marlin Jackson, DB, Michigan
Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas
Jason Kaufusi, DL, Utah
Brandon Kennedy, DT, North Texas
Teddy Lehman, LB, Oklahoma
Jim Leonhard, DB, Wisconsin
Justin Miller, CB, Clemson
Kirk Morrison, LB, San Diego St.
Antwan Odom, DE, Alabama
Philip Perry, DE, San Jose State
David Pollack, DE, Georgia
Etric Pruitt, DB, Southern Miss
Bob Sanders, DB, Iowa
Stuart Schweigert, FS, Purdue
Darrion Scott, DL, Ohio State
Richard Seigler, LB, Oregon State
Isaac Sopoaga, DT, Hawaii
Derrick Strait, DB, Oklahoma
Sean Taylor, DB, Miami, Fla.
Marcus Tubbs, DT, Texas
Kenechi Udeze, DE, USC
Nathan Vasher, DB, Texas
Jonathan Vilma, LB, Miami, Fla.
Courtney Watson, LB, Notre Dame
Corey Webster, CB, LSU
Grant Wiley, LB, West Virginia
D.J. Williams, LB, Miami, Fla.
Madieu Williams, CB, Maryland

Related Link:
• Charlotte Touchdown Club