Football Writers Association of America Nov. 25, 2003
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Three receivers selected for the first time
DALLAS (FWAA) Top-ranked Oklahoma dominated the 2003 Football Writers Association of America All-America team announced on Tuesday with an unprecedented six players on the 25-man team.

The FWAA All-America Team is the second oldest continuously published team in college football. And this is the most players by one school on the team since the FWAA started selecting an All-America squad in 1944. During the modern era of college football, Miami (Fla.) had four players on the 2000 FWAA team.

Oklahoma quarterback Jason White and wide receiver Mark Clayton were selected on the offensive team. Cornerback Derrick Strait, tackle Tommie Harris and linebacker Teddy Lehman made the defensive team. OU's Antonio Perkins, a punt returner, cracked the special teams list.

Players from four schools Oklahoma, Southern California, Virginia Tech and Miami (Fla.) accounted for 13 spots, more than half the team.

Southern California landed three players on the team wide receiver Mike Williams, offensive lineman Jacob Rogers and defensive end Kenechi Udeze.

Miami (Fla.), and Virginia Tech had two each on the squad. Tight end Kellen Winslow and defensive back Sean Taylor of Miami made the team. The Hokies' center Jake Grove and running back Kevin Jones were selected.

Arkansas offensive tackle Shawn Andrews and Lehman were the only repeat All-Americans from the 2002 FWAA team.

Because the passing game has exploded on the college scene and many schools are using three wide receivers and one-back sets, the nine-member FWAA All-America selection committee voted to use that configuration when naming the 2003 team for the first time. In the past, the FWAA at times has selected three wide receivers, but dropped the tight end from the team.

The FWAA's 25-man team will be honored on Dec. 12 in Orlando, Fla., by Florida Citrus Sports (FCS) during a banquet under the stars at the Citrus Bowl.

FCS is the organizing group which produces the Capital One Bowl and the Mazda Tangerine Bowl among other events.

On Monday, the FWAA will announce three finalists for the Outland Trophy, which has been award to the top interior linemen in college football since 1946.

QB Jason White, Oklahoma 6-2 221 Sr.
RB Kevin Jones, Virginia Tech 6-0 221 Jr.
WR Mark Clayton, Oklahoma 5-11 187 Jr.
WR Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh 6-3 225 Soph.
WR Mike Williams, Southern California 6-5 230 Soph.
TE Kellen Winslow, Miami (Fla.) 6-5 250 Jr.
OL Shawn Andrews, Arkansas 6-5 370 Jr.
OL Alex Barron, Florida State 6-6 316 Jr.
OL Robert Gallery, Iowa 6-7 320 Sr.
OL Jacob Rogers, Southern California 6-6 305 Sr.
C Jake Grove, Virginia Tech 6-3 300 Sr.
DE Dave Ball, UCLA 6-6 275 Sr.
DE Kenechi Udeze, Southern California 6-4 285 Jr.
DT Tommie Harris, Oklahoma 6-3 289 Jr.
DT Chad Lavalais, LSU 6-3 292 Sr.
LB Derrick Johnson, Texas 6-4 230 Jr.
LB Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma 6-2 243 Sr.
LB Grant Wiley, West Virginia 6-1 235 Sr.
DB Will Allen, Ohio State 6-2 190 Sr.
DB Keiwan Ratliff, Florida 5-10 178 Sr.
DB Derrick Strait, Oklahoma 5-11 195 Sr.
DB Sean Taylor, Miami (Fla.) 6-3 230 Jr.
K Nick Browne, TCU 5-10 172 Sr.
P Dustin Colquitt, Tennessee 6-2 196 Jr.
KR Antonio Perkins, Oklahoma 6-0 188 Jr.

Related links:
FWAA All-America Team (
Florida Citrus Sports to host All-America banquet (.pdf)