Football Writers Association of America August 9, 2002
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson

63 interior linemen in early contention

DALLAS (FWAA) – The following players are considered the top candidates for the 2002 Outland Trophy, which is presented by the Football Writers Association of America to the top interior lineman in college football each season.

Outland Trophy
The Outland Trophy

The winner of the 2002 Outland Trophy will be announced Dec. 12 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla. Three finalists will be selected by the FWAA All-America Committee in late November and will appear on the show.

The winner also will receive his trophy during a banquet on Jan. 9 in Omaha, Neb. The banquet is sponsored by the Omaha Sports Committee, which additionally will honor a past Outland winner at the Doubletree Hotel in downtown Omaha.

Miami's Bryant McKinnie won the 2001 Award while leading his team to the national championship. Tennessee's John Henderson, the 2000 Outland winner, was one of the three finalists for the 2001 Award, but failed to become the second person to win back-to-back Outland Trophies. Dave Rimington of Nebraska (1981 and 1982) remains the only two-time winner.

The Outland Trophy has been presented every year since 1946 and is the third oldest award in major-college football. The award is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn during the turn of the century. Dr. Outland established the award in 1946, a year before his death, with the help of the FWAA. He believed it was important for lineman to receive greater recognition. And for the last 56 years they have because of his award.


Bryan Anderson, OG, Pittsburgh
Shawn Andrews, OT, Arkansas
Ben Archibald, OL, BYU
Jason Babin, DT, Western Michigan
Tyler Brayton, DT, Colorado
Enoch DeMar, OG, Indiana

Robbie Doane, OT, Texas
Derrick Dockery, OG, Texas
Darnell Dockett, DT, Florida State
Nat Dorsey, OT, Georgia Tech
Jeff Faine, C, Notre Dame
Josh Gardner, OT, Cincinnati

John Garrison, C, Nebraska
Adam Goldberg, OT, Wyoming
Brandon Green, DT, Rice
Sherko Haji-Rasouli, OG, Miami, Fla.
Kwame Harris, OT, Stanford
Tommie Harris, DT, Oklahoma

Shalimar Jackson, OT, New Mex. St.
Al Johnson, C, Wisconsin
Ben Johnson, OT, Wisconsin
Cody Johnson, C, Nevada
Garry Johnson, T, Arkansas State
Jarret Johnson, DT, Alabama

William Joseph, DT, Miami, Fla.
Jimmy Kennedy, DT, Penn State
Kenny King, DT, Alabama
Dan Klecko, DL, Temple
Dan Koppen, C, Boston College
Rodney Leisle, DT, UCLA

Wayne Lucier, C, Colorado
Eric Manning, DT, Oregon State
Vince Manuwai, OL, Hawaii

Matt Martinez, C, Idaho
Nate McPeek, OT, Marshall
Rodney Michael, C, Fresno State
Kindall Moorehead, DT, Alabama
Quincy Myles, DL, Louisiana Tech
Lance Nimmo, OT, West Virginia

Joe Olivo, NT, New Mexico State
Mark Parenteau, OG, Boston College
Tony Pashos, OT, Illinois
Tim Provost, OT, San Jose State
Jimond Pugh, C, Memphis
Tank Reese, DT, Kansas State

Rex Richards, OG, Texas Tech
Brian Rimpf, OT, East Carolina
Derrick Roche, OG, Wash. St.
Brett Romberg, C, Miami, Fla.
Nick Romeo, C, Syracuse
Mike Saffer, OT, UCLA

Walter Sampson, NG, La.-Lafayette
Steve Sciullo, OT, Marshall
Ian Scott, DT, Florida
Garrett Smith, DT, Utah
Eric Steinbach, OG, Iowa
Jon Stinchcomb, OL, Georgia

David Upchurch, NT, West Virginia
Matt Walters, DT, Miami, Fla.
Ty Warren, DL, Texas A&M
Brandon Westbrook, OT, Mid. Tenn.
Todd Wike, OG, Maryland
Brett Williams, OT, Florida State

Related Link:
Outland Trophy

Copyright 1999-2009 | | Contact Us