Football Writers Association of America April 10, 2002
For Immediate Release
Contact: John Rocco
64 defensive standouts lauded
CHARLOTTE, N.C. (FWAA) – The Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America have announced the 2002 watch list of candidates for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded annually to the nation’s top defensive college player.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy
The 800-member Football Writers Association of America selects the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list candidates, identifies the players of the week and names the trophy winner. The Charlotte Touchdown Club, a non-profit organization that raises funds for scholarships, has presented the trophy each year since 1995.

The distinguished recipients who have been awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy in past years include the following: Rob Waldrop (1993), Warren Sapp (1994), Pat Fitzgerald (1995 and '96), Charles Woodson (1997), Champ Bailey (1998), Corey Moore (1999), and Dan Morgan (2000). The 2001 recipient was Roy Williams, a junior defensive back from the University of Oklahoma.

Anthony Allsbury, DL, Western Mich.
Phil Archer, LB, Minnesota
Fred Barr, LB, Iowa
Lance Briggs, LB, Arizona

Chris Brown, LB, Hawaii
Nick Burley, DE, Fresno State
A.C. Collier, DE, Baylor
Chris Crocker, DB, Marshall

Angelo Crowell, LB, Virginia
Rod Davis, LB, Southern Miss
Sheldon Deckart, LB, Utah
Mike Doss, DB, Ohio State

Rashad Faison, DB, South Carolina
Anthony Floyd, DB, Louisville
Lawrence Flugence, LB, Texas Tech
Greg Gathers, DE, Georgia Tech

Jernaro Gilford, DB, BYU
Brandon Green, DL, Rice
Mario Haggan, LB, Mississippi State
Ken Hamlin, DB, Arkansas

Tommie Harris, DT, Oklahoma
Gerald Hayes, LB, Pittsburgh
E.J. Henderson, LB, Maryland
Victor Hobson, LB, Michigan

Terrance Holt, DB, N.C. State
Bradie James, LB, LSU
Erasmus James, DL, Wisconsin
Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas

Todd Johnson, DB, Florida
Terrell Jones, LB, Miami (Ohio)
William Joseph, DT, Miami
Cato June, DB, Michigan

Chris Kelsay, DE, Nebraska
Jimmy Kennedy, DL, Penn State
Dan Klecko, DT, Temple
Rodney Leisle, DT, UCLA

Eric Manning, DT, Oregon State
Ricky Manning, CB, UCLA
LaMarcus McDonald, LB, TCU
Jerome McDougle, DE, Miami

Kindal Moorehead, DE, Alabama
Christian Morton, DB, Illinois
Antwan Peek, DE, Cincinnati
Troy Polamalu, DB, USC

Kendyll Pope, LB, Florida State
Cory Redding, DE, Texas
Bob Sanders, DB, Iowa
Benny Sapp, DB, Iowa

Jerry Schumacher, LB, Illinois
Stuart Schweigert, DB, Purdue
Ian Scott, DT, Florida
Clifton Smith, LB, Syracuse

Derrick Strait, CB, Oklahoma
Donald Strickland, CB, Colorado
Terrell Suggs, DE, Arizona State
Vince Thompson, DB, Northern Illinois

Jonathan Vilma, LB, Miami
Dennis Weathersby, CB, Oregon State
Dewayne White, DE, Louisville
Ronyell Whitaker, CB, Virginia Tech

Matt Wilhelm, LB, Ohio State
Jimmy Wilkerson, DE, Oklahoma
Eugene Wilson, DB, Illinois
Andre Woolfolk, CB, Oklahoma

The award, named after Hall of Famer and University of Minnesota and Chicago Bears star Bronko Nagurski, recognizes the best all-around defensive players throughout the year with the Bronko Nagurski Player of the Week. In November, five finalists will be selected and the trophy will be presented to the winner at a banquet on December 9 in Charlotte, N.C.

Related Link:
Charlotte Touchdown Club

Copyright 1999-2009 | | Contact Us