Football Writers Association of America Dec. 6, 2001
For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Richardson
Miami tackle is school's second Outland winner

ORLANDO, FLA. (FWAA) – Miami offensive tackle Bryant McKinnie was named the winner of the 2001 Outland Trophy on Thursday night during the ESPN College Football Awards Show.

Bryant McKinnie: 2001 Outland Trophy Winner
Miami's Bryant McKinnie poses with the Outland Trophy

He beat out Nebraska's offensive guard Toniu Fonoti and 2000 Outland Trophy winner John Henderson of Tennessee for the award, which has been presented annually since 1946 to be the best interior lineman in college football by the Football Writers Association of America.

McKinnie, a 6-foot-9, 336-pound senior from Woodbury, N.J., has not allowed a sack during his college career and anchors a line which averaged 5.5 yards each rushing attempt. The top-ranked Hurricanes swept 11 opponents this fall and will meet an undetermined foe for the national championship in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 3.

McKinnie dominated Syracuse's All-America defensive end Dwight Freeney in Miami’s 59-0 victory. McKinnie held Freeney without a sack in 52 plays. McKinnie's performance set the pace for an offense that rushed for a season-best 331 yards and accumulated 566 yards against the Orangemen.

McKinnie is the second player from Miami to win the Outland Trophy. Defensive tackle Russell Maryland won the award in 1990.

Henderson, a 6-foot-7, 290-pound senior defensive tackle, was seeking to become only the second player in the 56-year history of the award to repeat as the Outland Trophy winner. Nebraska center Dave Rimington won the award in 1981 and 1982.

Related Links:
• Outland Trophy
• Previous Outland Trophy winners
• FWAA awards calendar
• Bryant McKinnie honors site