Bowl Championship Series



P.O. Drawer ACC • Greensboro, N.C. 27417-6724 • (336) 854-8787

November 19, 2001 <u>FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE</u> CONTACT: Brian Morrison, BCS Media Relations Director (336-851-6062)

BOWL CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES SELECTION POOL ANNOUNCED

The Bowl Championship Series announced today the following institutions are under consideration for selection to the Nokia Sugar Bowl, Tostitos Fiesta Bowl, FedEx Orange Bowl and Rose Bowl presented by AT&T.

Maryland, as the Atlantic Coast Conference representative, has already clinched a berth in the BCS. The representatives from the other participating conferences (Big Ten, Big 12, Big East, Pac-10, SEC) which receive an automatic bid have not been determined. The following is a list of potential conference representatives (listed in alphabetical order):

Big East:	Miami, Syracuse
Big Ten:	Illinois, Michigan
Big 12:	Colorado, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas
Mountain West:	Brigham Young
Pac-10:	Oregon, Washington, Washington State
SEC:	Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, LSU, Tennessee

All other institutions have been released for consideration by other bowls. To qualify for an at-large selection to a BCS bowl, teams shall have nine regular-season wins (not including wins in exempt games) and be ranked in the top 12 of the final BCS standings on Dec. 9. Also, any Division IA independent team or champion of Conference USA, the Mid-American, Mountain West or Western Athletic conferences will be guaranteed a slot in one of the four BCS games should that team be ranked sixth or higher in the final BCS Standings unless more than two teams meet this criteria. Should more than two be ranked in the top six of the standings, the BCS bowl selecting will have its choice of any two from that group. Therefore, should Arkansas, Auburn and LSU not win their respective conference championship, they will be ineligible for an at-large selection because they will not meet the above-mentioned qualifications.

The selection process for the BCS bowls is as follows:

Teams ranked No. 1 and No. 2 in the final BCS standings will participate in the Rose Bowl at 8:00 p.m., on January 3. The other BCS games will use regional consideration regarding team selection. The following conference representatives will serve as the host team in the respective BCS bowl games unless such team is ranked No. 1 or No. 2 in the final BCS standings: Fiesta Bowl (Big 12), Sugar Bowl (SEC) and Orange Bowl (Big East or ACC). Should a bowl lose its host team(s) to the Rose Bowl, such bowl(s) will be allowed first choice of the remaining teams (except the host team of another bowl). The bowl losing the No. 1-ranked team shall have the first choice and the bowl losing the No. 2 team shall have second choice.

With the Rose Bowl hosting this year's national championship game, the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl will host the Pac-10 champion should it not be ranked No. 1 or No. 2. If this occurs, the Big 12 has already decided that its' champion (if not ranked No. 1 or No. 2) will exercise its option of staying in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl instead of being placed in the BCS at-large pool.