The Fifth Down

Coach of the Year Award move changes FWAA calendar slightly

Bookmark and Share  

With the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year announcement moved up a month to Dec. 6 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City, the FWAA Awards season will be a little more crowded as the 2010 regular season ends in early December.

On Nov. 21, FWAA members will be receiving ballots via e-mail with six to 10 finalists for the FWAA Coach of the Year Award. They will be asked to submit their final ballots for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year by the following Saturday in order for the winner to be determined.

The FWAA Awards season is just around the corner as teams move into the final third of their regular season in November. The rest of the FWAA Awards Calendar should hold to the form of past years.

In this issue of The Fifth Down:
• Griffin: Marriott moving in a new direction
• Coach of the Year Award move changes FWAA calendar
• Nagurski Legend: Mike McCoy

FWAA members will receive initial defensive ballots on Nov. 8 to pick their top 11 defensive players by position in college football. They must complete those ballots by Nov. 13-14 and send them to their representative. In addition, we will allow members to nominate a player for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy (given each year to the best defensive player in college football.)

The same process will be used the following week for the offensive side of the ball and special teams. A space on the offensive ballot will be left for members to vote for the Outland Trophy winner (Best Interior Lineman in college football on offense or defense).

The FWAA All-America Committee will meet twice by conference call to determine the 2010 team. The FWAA All-America Committee is listed online and can be reached by clicking on “Awards” at the top of the home page. Every conference in the Division I Bowl subdivision has a representative as do the major independents. Each person’s ballot will be sent to the member on the committee you choose in correspondence with the conference or school you cover.

The FWAA Awards Calendar is listed on this page. As has been the case for about two decades, the Outland Trophy winner will be announced on Dec. 9 during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Florida. The FWAA All-America Team is scheduled to be announced on Dec. 11 on ABC.

• Nov. 8: All-America defense ballots sent to membership
• Nov. 14: All-America defense selection committee call
• Nov. 15: All-America offense/special teams ballots distributed to membership
• Nov. 16: Eddie Robinson Award finalists announced
• Nov. 18: Bronko Nagurski Trophy finalists (5) announced
• Nov. 21: All-America offense/special teams selection committee call
• Nov. 21: Eddie Robinson Coach of Year Ballots sent to membership
• Nov. 22: Outland Trophy finalists (3) announced
• Dec. 6: Bronko Nagurski Trophy announcement/ presentation (Charlotte, N.C.)
• Dec. 6: Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award announcement/presentation (New York City)
• Dec. 9: Outland Trophy winner announcement (The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show)
• Dec. 11: FWAA All-America Team announced (ABC)
• Jan. 3: Discover Orange Bowl Courage Award on-field presentation (Miami Gardens, Fla.)
• Jan. 10: Freshman All-America Team announced (Scottsdale, Ariz.)
• Jan. 11: Grantland Rice Trophy announcement/presentation (Tentative, Scottsdale, Ariz.)
• Jan. 13: Outland Trophy presentation banquet (Omaha, Neb.)


• Bert McGrane Award nominees: Mark Blaudshun (
• Volney Meece Scholarship nominees: Dave Sittler (
• Website, National Team of the Week: Ted Gangi (
• Membership Directory: Charlie Fiss, Goodyear Cotton Bowl (
• Ethics/Press Relations Committee: Kirk Bohls (
• College Football Playoff Liaison: Gina Lehe, College Football Playoff (
• Eddie Robinson Award: Steve Richardson (
• Fifth Down Blog/FWAA Best Writing Contest: Ken Stephens (
• Bronko Nagurski Trophy: John Rocco, Charlotte Touchdown Club (
• Outland Trophy, All-America Team: Steve Richardson (
• Super 16 Poll: Phil Marwill, National Football Foundation (
• Orange Bowl/FWAA Courage Award: Matt Fortuna (
• Freshman All-America Team: Mike Griffith (

September 2013 | .pdf
July 2013 | .pdf
February 2013 | .pdf
December 2012 | .pdf
October 2012 | .pdf
September 2012 | .pdf
July 2012 | .pdf
February 2012 | .pdf
December 2011 | .pdf
October 2011 | .pdf
September 2011 | .pdf
August 2011 | .pdf
February 2011 | .pdf
December 2010 | .pdf
October 2010 | .pdf
August 2010 | .pdf
June 2010 | .pdf
January 2010 | .pdf
December 2009 | .pdf
October 2009 | .pdf
August 2009 | .pdf
July 2009 | .pdf
January 2009 | .pdf
December 2008 | .pdf
October 2008 | .pdf
August 2008 | .pdf
June 2008 | .pdf
January 2008 | .pdf
December 2007 | .pdf
October 2007 | .pdf
August 2007 | .pdf
June 2007 | .pdf
January 2007 | .pdf
December 2006 | .pdf
October 2006 | .pdf
August 2006 | .pdf
June 2006 | .pdf
January 2006 | .pdf
December 2005 (.pdf)
October 2005 (.pdf)
August 2005 (.pdf)
June 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
December 2004 (.pdf)
October 2004 (.pdf)
September 2004 (.pdf)
June 2004 (.pdf)
February 2004 (.pdf)
December 2003 (.pdf)
October 2003 (.pdf)
September 2003 (.pdf)
July 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
December 2002 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
October 2002 (.pdf)
August 2002 (.pdf)
February 2002 (.pdf)
December 2001 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)
September 2001 (.pdf)
August 2001 (.pdf)