The Fifth Down

Lodge Notes

Deadline for submitting information for membership directory is June 25

FWAA members have until June 25 to be included in the 2007-08 FWAA Membership Directory. Those who fail to meet that deadline with their updated information may be left out. The FWAA is closing membership for the directory earlier this year, so production deadlines can be met. Renewal forms were sent out to members in early April.

In this issue of The Fifth Down:
President's column: Sugar Bowl a BCS imposter?
Nagurski Legends Award to be unveiled
Outland Trophy watch list
Nagurski Trophy watch list
All-America checklist (.pdf)
Grantland Rice Poll revamped
Lodge notes

If you have failed to renew your membership, go directly to and click on "Join Us" at the top of the home page. After filling out the required information, you pay with a personal credit card on PayPal. Or you can print out the form and send in a check into the FWAA office in Dallas. The FWAA will not accept phone-in renewals.

Blaudschun to receive Bert McGrane Award

The Boston Globe's Mark Blaudschun will receive the 2007 Bert McGrane Award at the National Football Foundation's Enshrinement Festival at the College Football Hall of Fame on July 21 in South Bend, Ind.

The announcement that Blaudschun had won the award was made last January. Current FWAA president Mike Griffith will present the award to Blaudschun, who was FWAA president in 1999. Blaudschun's name will be added to a plaque in the rotunda of the College Football Hall of Fame.

The McGrane Award, symbolic of the FWAA's Hall of Fame, is awarded to an FWAA member who has performed great service to the FWAA and/or the writing profession. It is named after McGrane, a Des Moines writer who was executive secretary of the FWAA from the early 1940s until 1973. Blaudschun has been the press liaison for the FWAA with the BCS and takes over as chairman of the Bert McGrane Award Committee.

FWAA reps meet with BCS

The FWAA has met twice with officials from the Bowl Championship Series about media plans for the BCS 1-2 game on Jan. 7, 2008, in New Orleans. The Sugar Bowl will be the host for the title game this season. The FWAA will hold its annual meeting at the site and also announce the winner of the FWAA/Tostitos Fiesta Bowl Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award during the activities leading up to the game.

FWAA President Mike Griffith's column deals with the FWAA's approach to this coming January's game. ... Griffith and the FWAA's immediate past president, Dennis Dodd of CBS SportsLine, are scheduled to attend CoSIDA's annual convention in late June and early July and participate on a panel concerning access and also conduct a chapter meeting of the FWAA in San Diego. ... Dodd and the Kansas City Star's Blair Kerkhoff, FWAA president in 1997, spoke with Big 12 Conference sports information directors in early May in Kansas City regarding issues of coverage, access and press relations with football coaches in the league.

Members on the move

J.D. Campbell has moved from Bowling Green to become Sports Information Director at Indiana. ... Corky Simpson, FWAA president in 1996, has retired from the Tucson Citizen and has plans to relocate in the Missouri-Kansas area. ... Chuck Pool has moved from the Lombardi Trophy to become sports information director at Rice. ... Michael Harris has moved from Miami (Ohio) to become sports information director at Cincinnati. ... Sadly, Don Clerkin and Pete Nevins have both passed away. ... Ohio State sports information director Steve Snapp will be moving into a different position at the school. ... Shawn Nestor has moved from Akron to Maryland and is the football SID for the Terrapins.

ACC July 22-24 Pinehurst, N.C. Pinehurst Resort
Big East July 16-17 Newport, R.I. Hotel Viking
Big Ten July 31-Aug. 1 Chicago Hyatt Regency Hotel
Big 12 July 23-25 San Antonio Wyndham St. Anthony Hotel
Conference USA July 30-31 New Orleans Royal Sonesta Hotel
Mid-American July 24-25 Detroit Ford Field
Mountain West July 22-24 Las Vegas Green Valley Ranch Resort & Casino
Pac-10 July 26 Los Angeles Sheraton Gateway Hotel
SEC July 25-27 Hoover, Ala. The Wynfrey Hotel
Sun Belt July 23-24 New Orleans Pan American Building
WAC July 22-24 San Jose Hilton Hotel
September 2013 | .pdf
July 2013 | .pdf
February 2013 | .pdf
December 2012 | .pdf
October 2012 | .pdf
September 2012 | .pdf
July 2012 | .pdf
February 2012 | .pdf
December 2011 | .pdf
October 2011 | .pdf
September 2011 | .pdf
August 2011 | .pdf
February 2011 | .pdf
December 2010 | .pdf
October 2010 | .pdf
August 2010 | .pdf
June 2010 | .pdf
January 2010 | .pdf
December 2009 | .pdf
October 2009 | .pdf
August 2009 | .pdf
July 2009 | .pdf
January 2009 | .pdf
December 2008 | .pdf
October 2008 | .pdf
August 2008 | .pdf
June 2008 | .pdf
January 2008 | .pdf
December 2007 | .pdf
October 2007 | .pdf
August 2007 | .pdf
June 2007 | .pdf
January 2007 | .pdf
December 2006 | .pdf
October 2006 | .pdf
August 2006 | .pdf
June 2006 | .pdf
January 2006 | .pdf
December 2005 (.pdf)
October 2005 (.pdf)
August 2005 (.pdf)
June 2005 (.pdf)
January 2005 (.pdf)
December 2004 (.pdf)
October 2004 (.pdf)
September 2004 (.pdf)
June 2004 (.pdf)
February 2004 (.pdf)
December 2003 (.pdf)
October 2003 (.pdf)
September 2003 (.pdf)
July 2003 (.pdf)
March 2003 (.pdf)
December 2002 (.pdf)
November 2002 (.pdf)
October 2002 (.pdf)
August 2002 (.pdf)
February 2002 (.pdf)
December 2001 (.pdf)
November 2001 (.pdf)
September 2001 (.pdf)
August 2001 (.pdf)